Pain

I had the sweetest moment with my mom yesterday.

She came over during the time that Lukas naps and I work out.  I’ve been doing the 21 Day Fix Extreme videos that are totally killer.  I was on Day 5, which is the Cardio Extreme one, and I said “You can work out with me if you’d like,” not really expecting to accept my invitation.  Well, she did.  Highly modified.  But she did.

Of course, I groan and cry and squeal during the entire workout.  As she’d hear my pain, she’d try to console me and tell me I didn’t have to go as fast or as hard as the fitness models.

It reminded me of the night my body was twisting in pain from extreme contractions.  My back felt like it was going to break.  I’d groan and breath deeply and squeeze Osiris’s hand.  I’d close my eyes and hold back screams as my torso arched up and my head pressed against the hospital bed.  I remember hearing my mom plead, “Oh how I wish I could take this pain from you.”  And I remember thinking, “No.  This is my pain to carry.”  And I don’t regret it.

My mom’s comfort echoed God’s love for us.  When while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.  Death was what we deserved, but Jesus took it upon himself.  He died on the cross for our sins, conquered death and rose up from the grave.  He ascended into Heaven and sits at the right hand of the Father.  We have reconciliation to the Father in His name.  And I’m soooo grateful for that.

As I am, for these moments that God provides to point me to the Gospel!

Leave a Reply

